View Full Version : willpower and perplex??
ok, i was using the green goblin yesterday. now since he has willpower, can he perplex two different abilities? for instance, i wanna perplex bullseye damage up, and since i still can move twice, i move, then perplex my own damage up and attack. i'm not sure if i can perplex two things, so i just want to clear this up for future games. thanks for any reply's. i hope you understand the point i'm trying to make.
Okay.... a figure can only make one action per turn.
So, you'd only able to Move once per action.
Perplex doesn't cost an action, but can only be used once per turn per figure.
Does this make sense?
I think that perhaps you're minsunderstanding exactly how willpower works. It does not let you take two actions in the same turn. It lets you ignore the damage when you 'push' by taking an action the turn immediatly following a turn where you took an action.
But aside from that, Perplex may only be used once per turn. No matter how many action tokens the character has, no matter what powers they have, no matter whether or not they act this turn, it may only be used once each turn.
Hope this helps,
well i'm confused, your saying a figure can only make one action per turn. but that's where willpower comes in, so a figure can make two actions per turn without being pushed. he can move twice...can he perplex twice?? that's where i'm stuck
ok got it, thanks guys
ok, well back to willpower...i can attack twice in one round (turn) right? or move, and then attack. either was it's two action's, and no push
No. Willpower does not allow you to take to actions in 1 turn. In fact no power does. Flurry and Hypersonic speed let you make multiplt attack/rolls with only 1 action, but nothing allows you to take 2 actions in 1 turn.
then what the h#ll is the point of willpower. i still don't understand. it says "this character takes no damage from a push. so if attack with the goblin that's one action. normally he would be done, but he has willpower. hense the way i see it, and it's unexplained on the rulecard is that ok, normally if i were to push he would take damage. if i wanted to push and attack again with anyone else they would take damage. but with willpower i can make another attack considering a push, but NOT taking damage. so why can't i make two attacks. makes no sense
You're not quite getting it.
A model may only take one action per turn. Period, full stop.
A model that takes an action on two turns in a row is pushed on the second turn, and thus takes a point of damage on the second turn.
A model with Willpower does not take that point of damage for pushing on the second turn.
As the wording on Willpower states: "This character takes no damage from a push." A push is when a model takes an action on a second turn in a row. It does not allow a model to take two actions in one turn.
so what's the point of even pushing him to take no damage...so your saying i can just make one attack, and i can just move him, not attack again? i mean sh*t i don't mean to sound stupid, it's just not making sense, and we haven't been playing like you people are saying, it's pretty disapointing now. willpower is g@y now
You seem to be misunderstanding the push rules. Ok maybe not the best person to try and explain but here goes:
assuming 300 point game.
Turn 1: You perform 3 actions: 1.Move white Queen 2.Attack with Green Goblin. 2b. You Perplex up the damage on Bullseye-no ation needed for perplex. 3. You attack with Buleseye 4 Just for fun you move Magneteo. His move is free because of his Brotherhood team abillity and does not take one of you're 3 actions.
Each of the four characters recieves an action token (even Magneto using a "free" action). You are now done.
Your opponet goes.
Turn 2: If any of the Characters that have an action act this turn they will recieve a 2nd action token and be Pushed. This will give them a click of damage. But Green Goblin has Willpower and Will NOT take a click of dmage only a 2nd token. Goblin can perplex himself another character. Perplex does not take an action. So GG could perplex up Bulseyes damage. Bulseye could Push and and attack, then take a a 2nd token and a click of Push damage. Then GG could also attack and take a 2nd token but NOT a click of push damage.
GG can never perplex 2 characters in the same turn. Also keep in mind that if you use Perplex on Bulseye he will not be able to use Ranged Combat Expert.
May i suggest rereading the sections of the rulebook under "Turns and Actions" and "Pushing". The rulebook explains this fairly well. I'll try to restate it as well, as it seems to be confusing.
Link to the online rulebook:
Each turn you get X actions. You can assign these to any of your figures. A figure may get no more than one action per turn. If a figure uses an action, place an Action Token next to them to show that they've done something.
If a figure ever goes a turn without taking an action, remove all Action Tokens from next to them.
If a figure takes an action on a turn while he already has a Token, he becomes Pushed and takes a click of damage, and gets a second token. If the figure has Willpower, they still get the second token but they don't take the click of damage.
Any figure with two tokens may not be assigned an action until they 'clear'.
Hope this helps,
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, sh*t!!! i understand now. ok ok, i got it. thanks tarnish. i feel dumb. i'm not new to heroclix, i just don't play in tournaments and perhaps me and my buddies play in a couple ways wrong. hense why i'm asking. so thanks
Obviously you just dont understand the game. Lets put it this way. All characters can only make one action per turn. Willpower makes it so you dont take damage from a push. Which is huge. Your pretty much increasing your attacks by 1/3rd. Everyone else that pushes takes damage and would soon lose there invulnerability or other good powers/stats.
If you cant really understand this basic concept you might want to play chutes and ladder or candy land. That might be more your speed.
What's the point of pushing for no damage? Plenty.
A model without Willpower can act only 1 out of every 2 turns without taking damage from pushing. A model with Willpower can act 2 out of every 3 turns without taking damage from pushing.
That's quite a powerful ability.
Consider six turns and two models, one with Willpower (Model A) and one without (Model B).
Model B doesn't push, and gets 3 actions over 6 turns. Model B can push and take 4 actions over those 6 turns.
Or, Model B can push, and take 4 actions just as the Willpower model can -- but by the end of that time, Model B will have taken 2 damage from pushing.
There's no limit to how a model with Willpower can use those actions. He can attack two turns in a row without taking damage. I'm not sure why you'd think that he couldn't.
Willpower is a very effective power, and it's why models like Doctor Octopus and Batman are used so often.
You're welcome. When you play at home who cares what rules friends use :p . We ignore many of the more nitpicky LOF rules when we play here. Most of the hardcore rules I know just from seeing the questions around here so often. It kinda soaks in by osmosis.
i'll explain how me and 2 others play together. we all agreed that the whole pushing thing was stupid. just the fact of moving someone and then not being able to touch him until 2 turns later is so g@y. it's just not nearly as fun, and that's why we play it...for fun. we said "ok we can move anyone once a round, no pushing. but you can still use him next turn too". why would i wanna play a game with my favorite characters and move them ever other turn. it seems drawn out and boring. i'm aware of tournament rules, but i don't play tournies. we'd rather play our way, it's much more fun and fast paced. mock me if you want, i don't care, i just like our way, and we all agree so whatever makes it competitively fun ya know
In that case you're gonna have to come up with something for Willpower. Otherwise it's wasted points. It's only offical function is to prevent that click of pushing damage. As to the Perplex thing, you can only use it once on you turn for each character that has it. Doesn't matter about # of lightning bolts are anything else. But maybe that can be a use for you for Willpower since you don't use pushing.
no, we just make it so a figure with willpower can make two actions a turn. simple as that
Cool. Whatever works for you :)
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.