The first attack must be a close combat attack in order for Whizzer to be given the free action to make the second close combat attack.
Heroclix Rules Team
From: "xxx" <xxx>
Sent: Sunday, July 27, 2014 5:06pm
Subject: Whizzer and ranged attacks
Whizzer has a SP:
THE WORLD AT 500 MPH: Whizzer can use Hypersonic Speed. When he does, during his move, he may be given a free action to make a second close combat attack.
Normally as he has a 0 range the first attack from Hypersonic is going to be close combat attack. However if his range is increased and he makes a ranged attack as part of his hypersonic can he still make a second close combat attack with his SP. The reason I am asking is the wording of "second close combat attack", this implies that the first attack should have been a close combat attack.