2011 rulebook page 16:
Whenever a power or ability is countered or lost, all game effects with a duration specified by that power or ability immediately end. Effects without a duration specified by that power or ability remain in play even when the power is countered or lost.
Choose Me! I'm Way Cooler: (non-optional) Once per game when this power is first revealed, choose Cable or Deadpool and this character has . If you chose Cable, this character can use Penetrating/Psychic Blast and Telekinesis and modifies his damage value by +2. If you chose Deadpool, this character can use Perplex and Regeneration and modifies his attack value by +2. This power can't be countered.
If I choose 'Deadpool' and then use Regeneration and that heals me to a click that does not have Choose Me! I'm Way Cooler, what happens?
If Choose Me! I'm Way Cooler is no longer on the dial, its effects end. They go back to having the symbol and they can't use the benefits gained by choosing Deadpool. This also applies to any form of healing that would put them on a click where Choose Me! I'm Way Cooler is not visible, so it is not necessarily specific just to choosing Deadpool (you could pick 'Cable' and the be healed with Support, for example).
Also note that the choice of Cable or Deadpool is only made once per game, so if you do heal off this power and then end up back on it at a later date, your choice has already been made and you don't get to choose again.
The first quote is from the rulebook and the second quote is from the Cable/Deadpool Final Word.
My first question is, how do these rules/rulings not contradict themselves?
My second question is, how does this relate to Galactus's Herald trait and Dormammu's Empower Minion power?
MY HERALD: As you reveal your force, you may also reveal another figure of 150 points or less to become your Herald. Then each opponent may choose a character on their force to offer up as Herald. You may then either accept an opponent's Herald, or choose your own revealed one. The chosen Herald is added to your force. Your chosen Herald possesses the Power Cosmic team ability, the Flight symbol, and modifies their combat values by +1. In addition, they can use a standard power as listed on the Herald dial. At the end of your turn, you may freely turn the Herald dial to any slot. (It can't be turned any other way.) When Galactus begins the 600 point dial you may return your Herald to your starting area on click #1.
EMPOWER A MINION: Once per game as a free action, choose another friendly character of 150 points of less. That character modifies their combat values by +1.
Biggy's Comics & Games Tournament Thread
2003 DC World's Fellowship * 2011 DragonCon - 2nd * 2012 WonderCon Champion
I'll have to double check the wording, but I suspect the Superman and Flash duo have a similar issue... we may need to have a clarification added to the PG to address this.
That said, in the meanwhile, players can either choose to follow the ruling in the FW (which is the way it is meant to be played) or stick the letter of law in the RB and let the character keep the effect even if healed. Your choice (or, perhaps more specifically, your judge's choice).
"How does [insert special power] work with the new 2013 rules?"
Most everything special power-wise, we're looking into. The PAC changes may change the way some special powers function; we're checking on them before the June release. In the meantime, ask your judge.