The new le mr fantastic trait states :FUTURE FOUNDATION: Friendly characters possessing the Fantastic Four team ability can't use that team ability. Instead, they can use the following team ability: FUTURE FOUNDATION TA: When a character using this team ablility takes 2 or more damage from an opponent's attack, give the attacking character an action token after actions resolve. If you can't, deal them 1 unavoidable damage.
so thunderbolts requires the new ta to be a copyable marvel ta. does future foundation count as a legit ta to choose
Once at the beginning of the game, choose any one Marvel team ability other than an additional team ability, a wild card team ability, or a team ability that can’t be used by wild cards. Characters using this team ability can use the chosen team ability if they can’t already.
Future Foundation is not listed in the PG as a Marvel Team Ability on page 16-4 of the Player's Guide, ergo it isn't one.
Waller KOs: AA Robin, Kid Devil, Joker, Question; AW E Cap; FCBD Iron Man; Miracle & Oberon; John Stewart x2, Iron Patriot; Shatterstar; IH Herc; CW Photon & Nitro; FF Nite Owl; 10An R Thor, E Iron Man, Weapon X; FF Kilowog; Hugo Strange; Calender Man; Legion Cosmic Boy & Lightning Lad
Actually the card of Mr Fantastic defines it as a TA. The question is : is it a TA that can be copied ? or even is it a TA at all if Mr fantastic is not there ? My guess is the intent is not to make it a regular TA, usable by any other mean, but I don't have a real argument here.
Wildcards cannot use it, but that's not because it is uncopyable, that is because the characters meeting the prerequsite can only use it, they don't possess it. But Thunderbolts doesn't require anybody to possess the TA so that part is not relevant either.
I can see arguments going in the way "you can use it with Thunderbolts", but I strongly doubt it is supposed to be possible.
You know everyone loves to be the villain. Hugh Grant
The definition of a “Marvel team ability” is a team ability listed at the end of Section 15 of this document. From the current Players guide. Future Foundation is not a Marvel TA for Thunderbolts purposes.
It's just like the difference between possessing a power and merely being able to use it. Possessing a power allows a character to use it, but a character can use a power without possessing it. For instance, Captain Hypothetical has this power: "THE BEST DEFENSE: Captain Hypothetical can use Charge and Barrier." He doesn't possess Charge or Barrier, but he can use both. What he does possess is a power called The Best Defense that allows for the use of those two powers. It can be countered, but they can't. Does that illustrate the distinction?
As another illustration, take Gideon's special power:
WILD GENERIC TEMPLATE: Once during your turn, as a free action you may choose a standard power possessed by another character within 5 squares. Roll a d6. If the number of squares to the character is less then the result, Gideon can use that power and possesses that character's range value until your next turn.
In the example with Captain Hypothetical, he wouldn't be able to copy Charge or Barrier because Captain Hypothetical doesn't possess either. However, he'd be able to copy, say, Perplex (assuming Captain Hypothetical has standard Perplex printed on his dial).
So just verifying something. Wildcards (like Minions of Doom, etc) cannot expect to wildcard Fantastic Four and get them the cool Future Foundation ability assuming Reed Richards LE is on the team?
As far as the rulings go for now : no. They keep the original PAC F4 TA
And that somehow makes playing wildcards who still use the old TA and characters that have their F4 TA replaced by future foundation, more complex, ...Because, well, when Richards dies, does the TA revert to normal ?
My venue have been playing that "yes, it reverts to standard F4 TA after Richards dies", and that is logical, as the trait does not state "for the rest of the game even if this (power) is countered or lost" such as Sabretooth's mortal wound power. Additionally, we treat it as the TRAIT/TA exists until after actions resolve.
1) If Richards were to die from the result of two damage dealt, the attacker takes an additional token or 1 unavoid, and then, the trait is negated. Friendly F4 characters would NOT HEAL 1 upon the elimination of Richards.
2) The TRAIT is very specific about "taking damage", vs. "damage dealt". If a FF character is on their very last click, and dies as the result of an attack. The attacker would have only "dealt" 1 damage, no matter the printed damage, the attacker would garner no ill "TRAIT" effects as a result of the attack.