A friend of mine played in a Legacy marquee over the weekend, and the judge made a somewhat strange ruling that we're both questioning. He may have been right, I don't know, but it just doesn't seem like it to me. Thought I'd ask here.
Here's the set-up. My friend's Mr. Terrific and Stargirl (I think; I know it was a flier) are blocking a door to a room on an indoor map. Inside the room is KC Flash, who runs up, hits Terrific, and proceeds out of the room. The placement on the map was as follows.
X = walls, T = Terrific, S = Stargirl, - = empty squares. In other words, Terrific was standing in front of the door with Stargirl flanking him on a diagonal with the door opening. Flash moves out of the room ON THE DIAGONAL with Stargirl, moving through her character base and into another part of the map.
Was this a legal move? The judge said that it was, that character bases only count as blocking terrain for line of sight purposes, and that Flash could have left the room through the spaces containing Stargirl, Terrific, or no one, whichever he wanted. That doesn't make any sense to me at all. I though character bases were blocking terrain for both movement and line of sight, and that the only difference for fliers in terms of movement from grounded characters is that they can move past other characters without stopping. That still shouldn't allow them to move through blocking, though, right?
I don't know. I hope the question makes sense, even if my analysis of it doesn't. Please let me know, oh mighty and knowledgeable judges! Thanks!