I was at a tournament today and my opponent told me that when i use the normal use of phasing/Teleport via Pip the Troll's Space Gem SP that I cannot carry. I said he could since he is a transporter and is using Phasing/Teleport via his SP and the judge ruled against me. Who is right? Can I carry, or can't I?
It's always easiest to look at the specific wordings of the items involved. So let us do so...
SPACE GEM: Pip the troll can use Phasing/teleport. He can use it normally, or if he is not using the Carry ability, you can instead move him to any square that he has a clear line of fire to that is adjacent to both a friendly character and an opposing character. If you do, He can make a close combat attack as a free action.
We can see here, clearly, that if you are not using Phasing/Teleport in the normal sense, and are instead moving to a square adjacent to a friendly and enemy character that he absolutely cannot carry. However, what if you just want to use Phasing/Teleport to carry away?
PHASING/TELEPORT Give this character a power action and move it up to its speed value. It automatically breaks away and ignores the effects of characters, hindering terrain, elevated terrain, and blocking terrain on movement (but it can’t end its movement on blocking terrain).
CARRY When moving as a result of being given an action, this character can carry one friendly character. If this character carries a character during an action, modify this character’s speed value by –2 until the end of the action.
Ok, so did you give your character a power action to use Phasing/Teleport to move? Then you can carry, automatically break away, and must modify the characters speed value by -2.
I realize this, I was just really looking for some back-up. That is exactly how I broke it down, but I was out of town at a venue I had never been to. I am not going to argue with the judge after he has made a ruling. Hopefully, he will see this and be ashamed of himself. Thanks for the reply.
Just realized I had a typo in the 1st post. I meant using the Phasing/Teleport normally. lol.
No you can not since he was errated.
Space Gem begins ―Pip the Troll can use Phasing/Teleport. He can use it normally, or if he is not using the Carry ability, you can instead place him in any square…‖
so since he is placed he is not moving and there for would not be able to pick up an object and would not be able to carry anyone.
The errata says "Pip the Troll can use Phasing/Teleport. He can use it normally, or if he is not using the Carry ability, you can instead place him in any square…" When he is using P/T with the carry ability it works as it normally would. There was no change to this with his errata. The errata was to the attack portion of the SP so that he was placed instead of moved for the attack.